Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

foxjasond

Tips for playing online for Guilty Gear Xrd?

I'm a casual player that recently got the game, and while I've mainly played with friends, I'm trying my first ventures into online play. Given that I'm still learning the game, where is the best place for me to start, player matches or searching for ranked matches? I'm nervous about playing ranked, as it feels like every player with a good connection is a far more higher level than I am, and even low-level players I play against are still far more talented at this than me.

Coming from someone whose in the same boat as you, I'd recommend sticking to Ranked matches.

Far easier to get paired up with people of equal skill, and it's not often that you'll get paired up with a guy whose league's better than you. Don't let these players make you afraid to continue searching.

Player matches are very deceptive. Often times the really skilled players are on player, and have low level in-game player ID's. At first glance you'll assume "oh sweet a new player to have a nice spar with!" Of course, when you get into the game, you'll immediately realize that they mean business. One of these players even disconnected in the middle of the first round when he realized that my level 4 Zato-one was actually a level 4 Zato-one. I practically apologized to that Elphelt, and I didn't even do anything wrong!

You're better off hooking up with people in player match / lobbies, imo. You're more likely to pick something up by feel, or to find some material to take to Training Mode over the course of a set, as opposed to just getting bopped once by several randoms in ranked. Playing a set with someone, even a small one, will be a more focused experience.