Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Lelouch84

How to Improve My Execution

So I've been playing fighting games for several months now and I don't feel like I've made a ton of progress. I know that the main thing holding me back is my ability to perform combos. I find even simple ones oddly difficult. I believe it's because I press buttons rapidly until I see the move come out, then mash the next button, and so forth. My friend only ever hits the button he needs once and he's really solid on his execution. I don't know how I would begin to get some kind of rhythm to my inputs like that. Has anyone had the same problem as me and fixed it? Or can anyone offer some advice as to how I can fix it. General platitudes like, "Just go practice it" aren't helpful here as I don't really know how/what to practice. Anyway thanks for any help you can offer.

I have a similar problem, and it diminishes somewhat with time, but it's wiser to, yes, go into training mode and practice not mashing. If you can't CONSCIOUSLY not mash, then there's no way you'll ever be able to reflexively not mash.

When I try to consciously not mash it is hard for me to do even a 4 input combo. with mashing I can sometimes do around 8 to 10 inputs but i'm so inconsistent it's not even close to passable. It's about 1 in 50 attempts that I can really do something of 8 to 10 inputs.