Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Graque

How are your reflexes

I'm new to the game so sorry if this is obvious.  But I was practicing blocking mixups in training mode and I realized that the random playback feature could be used to quantify my reflexes.

For instance, against Ky I set two of the three slots to A below, and one to B:

• A: low, (small pause), low
  • B: low -> greed sever

Then I set it to random playback.  I was surprised, but I couldn't block greed sever.  I'm a bad player, but I thought I had blocked greed sever before on reaction.  I guess I had just gotten lucky or used option-select timing.

So apparently I can't block Ky's greed sever (19-22F), but I on the other hand I can block his dust (28F).  I can also block Leo's dust (25F), but not his stance overhead (18F).  So apparently my reflexes are between 20 and 25F.

I was going to try other moves to try to narrow down the range, but then I realized that I could just change the input lag setting and see how much I could increase it before I couldn't block any more.  It seems for non-dust overheads I need about 23-25F, but for dusts I can react a bit quicker, perhaps closer to 20F, presumably because of the big red marker.

Anyway, does this methodology make sense?  Has anyone else tried this?  I think I'm slow, but I'm curious what other people find.  Has anyone spent a lot of time training and improved their reflexes?  (I just tried for about 20 minutes with Greed Sever.)

To me at least, there are two kinds of reflexes:

---The kind you think about. (The same kind others WANT you to think about)
---The kind you don't think about. (What you actually do in most neutral situations)

I know in the past I've done dumb posts like "reflexes/reaction time are overrated" which people used as a signature, but really... my meaning behind that has to do with the idea that human reaction time isn't as great as we'd like it to be on a regular basis.