Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

4r5

[AC] Johnny vs Robo-Ky

ROBO-KY MATCHUP INFORMATION

Poking Game

More to come!...? You can help!

Strategy

Specific Punishes

Setups/baits

Knowledge

If he ever tries to make air missiles, you 6k. 2hs can stuff a lot of stuff up close and works well against his tick throw setups. It can even stop Level 3 horsie setups off of Robo repeatedly 5k'ing if timed correctly.

6K? Wow it sounds so simple...I've never tried it before and my friends who play Robo Ky LOVE to spam air missiles as I come in with a KJ or DB and I thought I had no choice but to eat it...I'd love to see this in action, if anyone can upload a vid of this that'd be great.

It's true, a robot spamming missiles inside 6K's range is asking for a foot up its ass. Inside of a dash+6K range, it has time to block. Beyond that, it's business as usual.

I find 6K useful against LVL3 missiles, mostly. Good Robo-Ky players won't usually spam non-LVL3 missiles at close-range. Watch out for falling j.S, though - once Robo-Ky players know you'll come after them with a 6K, they'll slam you with it. Also, Johnny's (amazing) sky-high jump really helps avoid the missiles when they break apart and come after you. They can sometimes be avoid with a simple double-jump forward.

2HS is the only thing Johnny has to get RK off of him. If the RK player has good TK skills, 6K won't always save you, as the missle can CH you for massive combo damage. Best thing is to play it safe and FD jump block before the missle seperates. I hate this matchup, RK's 2K and 2HS both go under Johnny's 5k, and Johnny gets no MF combos after 2D. MC pressure is almost moot if he has >50% tension. His pokes are better, he does more damage, and he has more life. Definitely in favor of RK, and you have to be very patient to take advantage.