Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

SCPartisan

New to the 2D Genre, Having Trouble Learning the System and Improving

Hello all! As the title states, I'm new to 2D fighters (playing P4A) and I'm having a really hard time figuring things out. My competitive background is in the 3D genre (Soul Calibur series as my main game and a bit of recent dabbling in VF5:FS) and so far everything I've learned and have been doing in those games has meant absolutely nothing in this game haha.

Could really use some help on some of the system/gameplay stuff (wake up, dealing with/applying pressure, etc...) if anyone is willing to help out a scrub that wants to learn!

So far I've been doing a bit of reading and video watching but it hasn't helped me as much as I had hoped (maybe looking in the wrong places?). Anyways, I seem to be at a total loss so any and all feedback is welcome! Thanks in advance!

Edit: Just saw the note about the stickies. Sorry if this crosses in with some of those.

There are two main things you're probably going to have to get used to in the switch from 3D to 2D fighters:

First: Technical/input/timing differences.

No matter what you've gotten used to in 3D fighters, the technical tricks are almost certainly going to be different. Setting aside the obvious things like "Block is no longer a button," you're also going to have to get used to the primary mechanism for accomplishing things in fighting games: Buffering inputs. You've almost certainly noticed that, as compared to most 3D fighters, directional inputs do a lot more actions that aren't directly moving your character around. Because of this, most 2D fighters have a concept of buffered inputs, and most experienced players, whether they know it or not, have mastered a number of tricks involving the input buffer that give them an edge on people who haven't played 2D fighters as much.