Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

nabbitthebunny

Newbie that needs help with a few things

Hello Dustloop. I am fairly new to fighting since my first fighting game was Persona 4 Arena. I played Blazblue shortly after. Because I'm a newbie I naturally suck at these games( However I'm slightly better at P4A). Anyway here's some issues I've been having

1. I have an extremely bad habit, I tend to pause in a middle of a combo. Sometimes it helps with timing, but most of the time it just throws me off. I want to stop it but I tend to do it on impulse even when I didn't mean to actually pause

2 IAD and Mircodashes: These things have been the bane of my existence ever since the moment I plugged in P4A. When trying to combos I always botch these up like 70% percent of the time whether I pause or don't. I don't exactly what the problem is here. Sometimes they don't come out right, sometimes they just plain don't come out

3. Defense: This is what makes me lose so much. Whenever the opponent has a good offense I shut down. I often mash DP in P4A and that obviously doesn't work. I try to do a counter assault but the opponent just rushes back in and I'm right back where I started. I try to use 632146x with Plat, Lambda, and Noel in Blazblue but it doesn't come out right 90% percent of the time

Terminology: This is a minor problem but one that needs to be addressed regardless. When lurking in Dustloop I knew some notation from lurking SRK (Numpad notation,zoning,etc) However I often see new notation like yomi, okiseme, etc. I think I can solve this on my own time but it would easier if I just had a page with most of the terminology I need to know

I'll add more questions when they come up