Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Psykotik

[CP] Carl vs Bullet

Discuss the Bullet matchup here

Random notes

- Her DP sucks. A spaced 2B that hits at the tip will actually be safe from it.
- Vivace is not the best option in this matchup if she's in the air and has Lv2/3 heat as her aerial drive will punish it.

This isn't a fun matchup for me at all. It may be because I'm still learning the character, but once she's in it's hard to get her off. It's hard to try and punish any of her blockstrinsgs. My friend will 5ABC me to death then followup with another 5A to stuff any counterpokes, once you're commited to sitting defensively in one particular way, they can easily go for a high/low/throw/or barrier crush(rarely happens, but it's still there). I haven't seen too many high level matches regarding the two, but it seems that the Carl player tries to play "aggressive" first before she does it to him.

As a Carl player, you're always going to be fairly weak on defence and always looking to get back on the offense.

You need to be very very good at blocking and intelligently escaping pressure. A quick look at Bullet's frame data tells me that 5C is even on block which means you should be able to get your 6 frame jab in before she has time to both dash up and throw her own 6 frame jab. That's if he's being predictable and doing 665ABC 665ABC and you're really feeling yourself. I recommend really working on your instant blocks for match ups with 0 on block situations as it gives you a huge advantage. Usually I'll instant block and choose a point to Backdashes where I know my opponent has no safe way to chase me down without some intense yomi.