Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

The_undercover_beret

[Xrd] Slayer vs. Zato-1

Hey guys how are u guys dealing will drill pressure? Sometimes I hit Eddie and still can't get in :-/ also when I'm blocking I counter assault and it hits Eddie and zato is still able to press buttons this is so frustrating lol

I am by no means an expert at this game and far less in this matchup.

This is probably one of my toughest matchups so far.
If Zato just use fly and drills I feel extremely locked out.
Ground-to-air AA vs fly <any move>? Forget it. Even with 6P and 2S it's way to hard to time with Zato being able to adjust himself.
Drills forever active... IAD stuff over them is somewhat okay but if you use it late enough for drill frames to drop they have recovered way back and can 6P you. And Zato 6P is gdlk.

I don't really have much answer in this matchup. Footage of good Slayers vs good Zato's is scarce. Though Ogawa vs Taka came up it felt like Taka just bullrushed that sh!t. Would love to see a longer set.

Blitz very useful in this matchup. Both on oki and during pressure.

In this matchup, I like instant air dash + D, it helps me to get in when Zato do S drill to keep me away.

Plus, if you hit zato during the S drill, he enters stagger state (you may be able to combo, I'll try when I get home) I usually just cancel to footloose.

j.D has 5F landing recovery so it makes it a bit difficult. On CH however it's quite easy.
Canceling to Footloose is a good idea since it will knockdown grounded opponents wich gives you oki and a small advantage.