Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Kimboslash

Axl vs Sol

6-4 Axl IMO. Max range 3P is an easy one-stop-shop to kill Sol's whole neutral game, and he doesn't get to jump against you most of the time. What's a sol to do? Just watch out for wild throw and you'll be golden.

(Okay, so it's not actually that easy, but I do think it's Sol's worst matchup, and I have a lot of experience in it. I'll post more later)

Meaty max-range 3P will make his wake-up S VV whiff, however an H VV will still tag you because it moves forward farther. Got DP'd every single time I tried this playing a Sol in casuals at KiT about 20 matches and couldn't figure out why. Got home, fired up training mode and realized he was using the OTHER DP, lol.

If he tries to reset pressure with bandit bringer, you can P counter on reaction (easier than doing jump IB and DP from block), it's also useful to look for P counters if he's throwing out fafnirs,  just watch out for yrc.

Yeah,
Just like you can Blitz Shield his bandit attacks (Both of them, that is) on reaction, P counter works there too.
I've found that doing a lot of up-back jump S is effective, because Sol has a lot of tools to get around your grounded pokes.
Riot Stamp can be one, whilst if you see it and react with 5p AA to a combo, it can be used to allow Sol a free ticket in if you whiff a chain.
His 2D goes under Axl's grounded pokes, making them whiff completely. If you're only at half-screen-ish distance, Sol can free 2D, so watch out.
Ground Viper low profiles everything and smacks Axl across the face, but if they abuse it too much use low counter for a free combo.

If the Sol stays grounded and uses the above tools (And more unlisted) he can get around Axl's grounded pokes, and the matchup will be hard for Axl

unless you use jumping S and spam them.