Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Sacrier

Raven Strategy Discussion

I thought it was weird that there wasn't a discussion thread about Raven here so I thought I'd make one. I'm by no means a good raven but I'm a veteran GG player so I can at least offer some analysis on his tools and what his potential strengths and weaknesses are. If you see anything I have wrong or want to contribute, please feel free to do so!

This post is going to be mostly a 'first impressions' rundown. I'll update it as I improve with Raven, and add in whatever you guys have to say as well, so that we have a masterpost for helping new ravens. With that said, let's get started.

General Strategy

Raven's strength lies in solid pokes with amazing pressure potential. He has the benefit of playing the 'footsies' game at mid range, using his punch and slash pokes on the defensive to set them up for a command grab attempt. While the enemy can jump out of this, he sports an air unblockable version, making it a 50/50 mixup. Guess right and get a great punish, guess wrong and they escape. However, Raven has a marked weakness: He has very weak reversal options, and struggles very hard to escape corner pressure. Combined with his excitement stance, this puts a lot of pressure on Raven to have an incredibly good defense, because one wrong block can mean serious punishment.

Excitement Meter: Is it worth it?