Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ff17cloud

How do I lose the habit of mashing buttons?

Now, I am a HUGE button masher. I came from MVC2 and Tekken, where my habit of button mashing formed. When I go to play Blazblue CS, I'm screwing up combos, I can't advance even past the 3rd challenge for any character, actually, not even the first combo they display.

Just, is there a way to reduce my habit of button-mashing? Sure, I still play MVC2, but I just want to stop the over pressing, I'm trying to do a "hell's fang" with ragna, and all he does is jab. I can't seem to slow down, or I'll stand there like tree that's been in a yard for generations, and when I speed up, I'm like a drunk driver.

Any advice?

The best advice I can give is to take it slow. I'm new to this one too, and what I've had to do is just go into practice and just clear my thoughts (like a jedi, bro). Then instead of trying to picture the whole thing inyour head just try and learn the individual parts and what different things you may be able to do with them. After that the only real mashing problem I've had is if I'm panicking lol

Hope this helps!

Slow down and take things one step at a time. Try to do the quarter circle back motion and then carefully press A, and keep practicing until you can do it faster. Same thing with combos. Take them one move, then eventually parts at a time, until they become muscle memory, then try another part. Then try to practice the whole thing.

Figure some combos you want to learn (Bnbs etc) and take those combos to Training mode

Open up the menu and put display input on and try to get the combo as close as you can on both sides of the screen (P1 and P2)

This should hopefully build up some muscle memory to where you wont have to mash and you could literally (can) do it with your eyes closed.

Like Advil said learn the individual parts and just piece them all togther