Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Kakimori

[CS2] Valkenhayn Beginner Tips

Hi, I'm a relative beginner to BlazBlue and a Valkenhayn user (my other character is Lambda, but I'm pretty terrible with her). I'm posting here because I'd really like to hear any basic combo tips or strategies people have for Valkenhayn, since mine is really not that great. I should say that although I'm not really new to fighting games, I find the combos in BlazBlue EXTREMELY difficult (it took me about 2 hours to be able to do the CH 5B,5C,236C~9D,j.AAA,j.236A,j.236B,j.214A combo in the challenge section, and I still can't do the last j.214A consistently).

My two main talents for fighting games are spacing and reads. I don't have the best reaction time and I'm not good at really hard inputs, but I'm pretty good at using my reach with a long-range melee character (Nightmare in SC2) and telling what people are going to do. I like Valkenhayn for that reason: he has a lot of long-range, slow melee attacks that are relatively safe or even + on block, a good air dash, and the ability to become a rush-down character for a few seconds when needed (oddly enough, I hate Hakumen, though).

-My main spacing tools with Valkenhayn are 5C and j.C, and I land them both a lot.

-I try to use 6B as a meaty in the corner after knockdown, but I'm not very good at it yet.

-I feel like 6B and 6C are some of his best moves if you can get them out there, and I want to use them more, but I don't find too many opportunities for them.

-I try to use the guard point on 6A sometimes when I'm in the corner, but mostly you're not actually that close to anyone, and if you are, their 5A or 2A will usually outspeed and beat you out. I'm close to filing this move in the useless department.

-If they are blocking my wolf AAA low, I can use 5C~5B for the instant overhead, which is really nice.