Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Reaper4

Tips for Reload Sol

I started playing guilty gear again when it came out for download on xbox live. Im trying to get good with Sol and i was wondering if any one can give me some tips or combos for him.

Oh yeah, #r just became downloadable from Live. That explains all these posts for #r stuff.

Unfortunately most of our #r stuff got deleted, or was on gamecombos.com or romancancel.com which aren't around anymore.

but you can check out this guy's youtube channel for a bunch of #r vids

http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=getterbeeeeeeeeeeem

Hmm, so I originally started this post with the intent to write a little, and I went really overboard. :psyduck: But if a lot more people are just getting #R, maybe it will be useful? Anyway, ridiculously long post ahead. =/

By the way, If you're going to play online, you're probably better off downloading the Japanese version of #Reload for the PC and patching it so you can play on #R Net. Just sayin'. =P

Basic stuff for Sol:

-Be able to GF FRC consistently. That also means being able to GF FRC after moves like 2D, 6P, etc.

-You generally want to stay close to your opponent, so use short strings while on the ground to keep from pushing your opponent out.

-Be careful about getting predictable with Sol, especially his specials since a lot of them are easily punishable. For example, don't overuse VV, since your opponent is just going to start blocking and punish you for it.

-This may be obvious, but since I have seen a fair number of newer Sol players do it, I would just like to reiterate that GV, BB, and Riot Stomp are not mixups, and they are all easily punishable (especially GV). The only exception to this is when you are backed way into a corner with your opponent close to you, then Riot Stomp is fast enough to be considered a "mix up," but I still hesitate to call it such.