Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Kurushii

[CP] Kokonoe Vs Azrael

Match Start

Neutral

Full Screen
Long-Mid Range
Point Blank

Offense and Defense

Your Offense vs His Defense
His Offense vs Your Defense

Gimmicks and Miscellaneous Info

Gimmicks
Misc. Info

Frame Advantage, Disadvantage, and Punishes

Frame Advantage
Frame Disadvantage
Punishes

Summary

Mmk so I just lost like 20 times (won 1 time!!!) to a good Azrael (shoutouts to MC_Respect). Granted, I'm not very good at the game right now so that could be the main reason this matchup seemed nearly impossible. A few things I noticed:

- He does a buttload if damage and almost all of his combos will carry you to the corner, which is really saddening.

- You cannot teleport reversal out of Azrael's meaty oki. His followup to it will always counterhit you and you will eat a combo for free.

- Almost all of Azrael's blockstrings seem really really safe. Mashing 2A/5A in his blockstrings will give him a free 5k on you.

- Obviously, he can growler your projectiles.

It felt like a 1-player game to me once I got cornered. Because his blockstrings are so safe it was extremely hard to escape him; most of his moves seemed to have a large enough hitbox to either force me to block when I tried to jump away, or hit me (almost confusingly so, because I could swear I was blobking half of the time I got hit [no I'm not referring to blue "!" moves]). Teleport reversal is not an option against him. Basically the only time I was able to get good hits in or oki going was if I predicted his approach (either using 6A as an anti-air, or 3C to stuff his approach moves). But if I predicted incorrectly I would end up in a corner and die.

Any tips for a noob in this matchup?