Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Tronotron

Please explain Astral Finish?

Hey all, so I recently started playing BBCP online....   Apart from the matchmaking being apparently broken, I don't get what the story with Astral Finish is.... At least half of the matches I've played recently have ended with me being defeated with an Astral Finish.... It seems that a lot of players resort to that when they can't just steamroll through the fight with their combos.  I don't even know how to pull off an AF (I play Hakumen) and it seems unblockable/ undodgeable. . . I don't see any in-game explanation.  Seems like a really cheap mechanic that takes the fun out of the game. . .

Thanks

Here's the wiki page for those: http://www.dustloop.com/wiki/index.php?title=Offense_(BBCP)#Astral_Finish

Astrals are basically the critical finishers of BlazBlue, you can go for an Astral if you meet the conditions (see wiki). However it depends on the character how easy it is to connect, some characters can combo to their Astrals whereas others can't. Hakumen's Astral for example is a counter move much like his drive moves and Yukikaze. It's in the very bottom of a character's move list.

Most of them you can block but since it costs 100 heat and puts the user in a punishable spot, people generally try to combo into them, guaranteeing their success. Some of them (for example Relius' and Tager's) are grabs so you'll have to escape them some other way, like jumping or backdashing, even though it's possible to combo into those too since they ("Astral grabs") can't be broken.