Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Arteezy

What to do when getting railed on

I'm new to fighting games in general and got Guilty Gear Xrd, so I've been practising Faust.

When i get into online matches, and i get trained with a combo either mid-screen or in a corner it's super frustrating cause I can't seem to do anything and I don't know how to get out of it. Any advice? Specifically against characters like Milia and Sin

You can press any attack button midair (and a direction) to do a recovery, although this will only work if there is a gap in the combo being performed. Your most important tool for getting out of combos is your Burst. Make sure you don't waste it, and try to use it right when your opponent has initiated a combo.

Stay calm. Try to watch what they are doing in their combo, how much recovery each thing has, when they are close to you and when they are far away. When they're close and in recovery, you can burst out.

Don't mash tech. Don't think of a tech as something you do to get out of damage, think of it as an invincible movement options you can do after getting hit. While you're still in the combo, if you want to get out, try teching right before each move, so that you can go through a move when you tech. Think about where and when you want to land. Remember that getting hit by a reset is much more damage than getting hit by a black-beat combo. Patience is the difference between getting out of the combo and being back on your feet and getting reset into more damage or bad positioning.

Well, I dunno about GG yet, as I dont have it, but a general thing you could try is a character specific DP. I would recommend looking up the frame data for Faust. Look for moves that either give you a brief moment of invincibility or armor. These are nice to help get someone off you. In terms of Blazblue, for example, the first thing that comes to mind is Ragna's Inferno Divider, and in Street Fighter, Ryu's Shoryuken.