Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Sir_Bumble_Bee

A novice player hitting that "brickwall" in GGXrd

First, I would like give my greetings as a new member of dustloop. I am relatively new to fighting games as a whole and so far I'm in love with the community. I started with SFII turdo on the snes (wii virtual console) and have since gotten into more franchises such as guilty gear and tekken.

Now with that out of the way, here's my problem.

I have been playing GGXrd for the past 2 1/2 weeks, logging in usually around 3 hours per day. I recently acquired a hori real arcade pro v4 arcade stick soon after my thumbs started getting blisters. Recently, however, I have been feeling somewhat discouraged into playing the game due to my experience online. Out of around 50 overall matches I've played, I've won 1. I know it's just because I need to get better (I've heard the "spend 80% of your time in training" theory), but when I spend a couple hours in training and challenge mode and then hop into a room to apply what I've learned and get stomped on it's disappointing to say the least. I feel like I'm making no progression.

From what I heard prior to picking up the game, most people said that it's easy to get into and understand but eventually you'll hit a wall. Is this what I have been hearing about? I get how roman cancels, bursts, rejections, dead angle attacks, and faultless defense works, but I can almost never properly utilize most of them in a real match.

I'd like to think of this question as more than a simple "how to get better" topic and instead would like to hear some personal stories and solutions.

I still love the game and I want to get better and compete, but how exactly do I overcome this bump in the road?

Thank you for reading and sorry for the lengthy post :)

Side note; I main May and I have some interest in learning Millia later