Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Kiba

[CP] Tsubaki vs Carl

What is the verdict on this matchup? I'm no good player but I've been having problems against Carl, especially in neutral. Is there something Tsubaki should be doing to give him trouble? I did get some usage out of j.214a and 241A to stop his approaches. 241D 236D works well to blow through his orb or maybe a Nirvana startup move. I'm not sure if it's actually a go to thing. Delayed wakeups seem to help deal with his setups. I'm not sure what Tsubaki should do to try to establish control. He seems to get in or play keep-away pretty well. 

There are so very little Carls that currently exist on this planet that it is actually difficult to give concrete information on this matchup. Most discussions about Carl I have had with other people just lead to theorycrafting.

I have fought a total of 5 Carls since I started playing the Blazblue series of games.

I fought 3 in the last 4 days so I was like O_o. I've been playing CP only about a month but only have had maybe 2 sets with Carls before. He can air to air all day long. 

Jesus you must be really lucky. I have not seen any for the last few weeks in any of the online modes, and the only time I encountered one before that was multiple months before those few weeks.

I should make sure to add the next however many Carls I meet next as friends to secure matchup experience.

I haven't really played any GOOD Carls, unfortunately, but here's what I know:

Don't be afraid to punch the doll in the face with with any move that you can jump cancel on hit (okay, 6C would be a bad idea) - 5A/5B/5C are all fine. It depletes the doll's meter and may interrupt whatever she's doing, depending. Be careful of the moves with armor, but as long as you jump cancel you should be okay.