Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Robi

Etiquette on joining player match parties

What is the proper etiquette for joining player matches?

Waiting 10-20 minutes for ranked matches knowing there are open parties is painful, but I don't want to just join one and be "that guy", especially because I'm pretty much always a lesser player than the host.

Note: I'm fairly new to the FGC, hence my inexperience with this.

"One and done" is the only one way to do it. Play one game, win or lose, and leave the room.

Okay, no, I'm joking. I don't think there's an "etiquette" per se besides just playing without leaving mid-match.

I just feel a bit weird about joining an A-ranked player's room when I'm D. I realise that the ranking system is a bit questionable, but still.

Thanks though!

The etiquette would be trying to join rooms where you have decent latency with the host. Don't skip intros because there's some kind of urban legend about that making games less laggy. There's also the urban legend about picking Mitsuru or Yukiko stage for less lag.

You don't actually have to be good to join player matches. Most people are fine with whatever. You usually get kicked if you're too good though. If you're impatient and want more matches, then I suggest making a 2 person lobby so you don't have to wait. It's also a good way to learn.

Do your best to find lobbies you have a decent connection to. Don't both if it's a 0. Also, be polite. Say hello, good luck, thanks for the games, etc. It's not necessary and no one will think badly if you don't, but it's just a nice thing to do.

Also, if you're godlike or something, pass once in a while. New players don't appreciate getting ran over endlessly by only one person.