Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

illness690

Neutral game help

Ok so I'm a umvc3/sfae/Tekken player who's a complete noob at bb. I don't understand how the neutral game works. Since it's got air dashes I automatically play like it's marvel and try to dash in recklessly and get a hit to start my combo, but it almost never works, and I get blown up for it. I guess it's cuz in marvel you've got assists to cover your rushdown, but there's no assists in bb, so how do you get in? Is the neutral game footsie based or something? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I play Bullet btw if that's any help.

A good thing to take note of is in anime fighters, learning how to space yourself is incredibly important. Since we don't have any "Derp, I want a mixup for free" mechanic like assists in marvel, you have learn which of you normals are good for covering your approach. Ragna's j.C for example is a strong aerial spacing tool that forces your opponent to respect the airspace in front of you. Bullet's 5B is a solid spacing tool and her 6B is a decent anti air, so using those should help you assert dominance in neutral.

Sometimes, trying to go on the all out offensive in neutral isn't the best idea. Sometimes you will want to use what movement you have to bait your opponent. I don't know a huge amount about Bullet, but I do know that her j.C is a really strong air to ground tool that you can use to fish for whiff punishes. On the other hand, Bullet is pretty weak in the air during neutral (not counting her j.D and C, both of which are still pretty unsafe) so you should focus on forcing your opponent to respect you with your strong ground normals and pressure. There's a guy in my scene who described her in a hilarious way: "Bullet tickles you twice and then fucking kills you".

Try practicing whiff punishes, footsies, and anti airs. These will improve your gameplay immensely.