Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Qispichiq

Persona to Guilty Gear Questions

(Sorry If I'm not meant to make new topics for things like this, I'm new to using forums and the FAQ thread said it was for non-gameplay questions so I didn't want to ask it there)

Hi! So I'm a Persona player and I'm kinda interested in Guilty Gear because I like old school thrash metal, heard some neat things about how the game works, and Potemkin looks like he was made for me to play him. I read the stickyed gameplay FAQ but I still have a few questions in relation to transitioning from games(you can answer with how it is in Xrd or +R)

• What is Dust? I know it's an attack but does it have any common properties (ie like D attacks in Persona often being "Gimmicky" or HP in SF usually being slow but strong)
  • How tight is the input for DP/623, double qc/236236, and 360/63214789 motions in these games?
  • I heard during Smash Bros Melee Finals at EVO 2013 that Guilty Gear has "Free Jazz" combos like Smash, basically, in Smash Combos are done off impulse and knowledge of the game rather then muscle memory from being in training mode. To what extent is this true in GG?
  • I own AC+, how radically different is +R/Xrd from it and can me and my friends use it as a leeway into the series?
  • How far is the tier gap in this game? Eventhubs says Potemkin is low tier in +R and SRK says Bridget is low tier, I'm interested in playing both, is the tier gap so high that there is a point where characters are so outclassed they are "unviable" to win with?

Dust, which is the D button, is very similar in function to P4U's AB. For example, 5D in GG is a universal overhead, and 2D is a universal low. As you're aware, 5AB in P4U is a universal overhead, and 2AB is a universal low. Just like 5AB in Persona, 5D in GG launches the opponent and you can do an air combo (Dust gains a wallsplat in Xrd, like AB~D in P4U).